Part 3. Project 5. Exercise 2.

Having struggled with my choice of location for exercise 1 in this section I drove around to find somewhere that was more of interest to me.  The reason I chose to sketch in Chesham is a) the housing stock was much more interesting/older and b) the town is hilly so I was able to find a much more interesting perspective by standing near the top of one of the hills.  I liked the view beyond the foreground showing shapes of housing popping up amidst the trees.  I also liked this view as I was able to use the power lines to direct the flow of the eye around the piece.

IMG_6849 IMG_6850 IMG_6944

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6860

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I challenged myself to try and accurately draw using perspective whilst I was on site and with the larger study on A3 I tried to consider how to portray the distance using less detail.  I do not usually use pen so again this exercise was more of an experiment for me – to see how to use the ink pen with more fluidity rather than a more ‘graphic-style’ line that was somewhat cartoon-like.  The brush pen also created a more fluid way of making lines, although it was too stodgy/heavy for the finer details in the work. Having done these sketches I felt I had enough information to then to do the limited palette study for the following exercise.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment